The Weed Whacker

025F0077-45C4-43D9-BDB0-73CD2FE245A4_w268

     Anyone who has to regularly deal with weeds and grass surely owns one of these whirly devils.  Sure beats the scythe I had to use as a kid when I worked for the county road commission clearing grass and weeds away  from road signs and guard rails.  At the time I was just happy to have such a fine paying job for the summer that would enable me to go to college in the fall.  If George Ballas had been  a little earlier with his weed whacker I probably would have been out a job.  I most likely would have not gone to college and I would have missed all the Coeds and the parties.  The education I mostly missed anyways, but the sex and excitement?  Thank George, for the weed eater a little later than sooner.

     Currently, I have a very large and unruly lot rather than a nice yard surrounding our house.  If not for the weed whacker I’d be the scourge of the neighborhood.  God Bless Mr. Ballas for sticking fishing line in a tin can and spinning it around.  Here in 2015 I’d rather deal with na bunch of irate neighbors than having to attack the lot with a scythe.  Not much can stop the weed eater’s whirling string from decimating the tall grass and weeds, quickly.

     As I chopped through the weeds on this very bright sunny day, I could only hope the guy was fortunate enough to get rich off this miracle of a contraption.  From what I have been reading over a cup of coffee, George was able to make it all happen.  Hallelujah!  He created and ran a very prosperous company for his blessed Weed Whacker.

Richard Rensberry, Author QuickTurtle Books®

Leave a comment